fbpx Antigua and Barbuda: Medicinal Cannabis Authority now in place

Antigua and Barbuda: Medicinal Cannabis Authority now in place

Twitter icon

Ten people have been appointed to serve on the new Medical Cannabis Authority.

A release from the Ministry of Legal Affairs said yesterday that “the Board of the Antigua and Barbuda Medicinal Cannabis Authority wishes to notify the general public that it has come into force pursuant to the Cannabis Act of 2018”.

Solicitor General Mr. Martin Camacho is the Chairperson of the Cannabis Authority, while Comptroller of Customs Mr. Raju Boddu is the Deputy Chairperson.

The other members are Chief Medical Officer Dr. Rhonda Sealey-Thomas; Director of Analytical Services Dr. Linroy Christian; Representative of the Rastafarian Community Mr. Franklyn “Frank-I” Francis; Representative from the Substance Abuse Prevention Unit Mrs. Feona Charles-Richards; Deputy Commissioner of Police Mr. Albert Wade; Representative of the Pharmacy Council Mr. Algernon Roberts; Director of Agriculture Mr. Jeddidiah Maxime; and Crown Counsel Ms. Jeniece St. Romain as Secretary.

“The Antigua and Barbuda Medicinal Cannabis Authority is responsible for regulating and controlling the licensing of the cultivation, manufacture, processing, extraction, import, export, testing, research, distribution, and sale of medicinal cannabis and cannabis for sacramental purposes,” the release said.

Applications made to the Board of the Medicinal Cannabis Authority must

be in the prescribed form outlined in the Cannabis Regulations 2019, and submitted via scanned electronic copy emailed to [email protected] and submitted in hard copy to the Secretary of the Board at the Ministry of Legal Affairs, Government Complex, Parliament Drive.

Application forms for licences may be obtained from the Government Printery for a fee of EC $10 per form.

e-mail icon Facebook icon Twitter icon LinkedIn icon Reddit icon
Rate this article: 
Regional Marijuana News: