Oklahoma just legalized medical marijuana

Twitter icon

Oklahoma voters are OK with medical marijuana. Just moments ago, Question 788 - the ballot initiative to legalize medicinal cannabis use statewide - was approved by a comfortable margin. It wasn't a landslide victory in the Sooner State, but the cannabis cannabis ballot initiative did pass with a buffer of over 100,000 votes, write Calvin Hughes and James McCLure.

That makes Oklahoma the 31st state to legalize medicinal cannabis use, and the fifth in the South (after Arkansas, Florida, Louisiana and West Virginia). Together, they are shattering stereotypes of Dixie being far too conservative to take a bold step like reforming outdated cannabis laws.

Here's what Question 788 will do for patients who are eligible to get medical marijuana in Oklahoma.

What Question 788 Will Do

Question 788 will make medical marijuana available to certain patients in Oklahoma. Patients 18 or older will require a signature from a physician to receive a medical marijuana license that is good for two years. After that, patients will have to consult with a doctor to get their license renewed.

The state will also offer visitors a temporary (30 day) license if they can prove that they are a licensed patient in one of the other 31 states where medical marijuana is legal. That provision sets Oklahoma's initiative apart from many other jurisdictions, which typically focus only on patients residing within the state.

Unlike New York and other states, the initiative doesn't set a list of qualifying medical conditions, so doctors would have to assess a prospective MM patient's needs based on "accepted standards a reasonable and prudent physician would follow when recommending or approving any medication," according to the initiative's language.

Licensed individuals would be able to possess up to 3 ounces of cannabis flower on their person in public and up to 8 ounces at home, where they can also keep up to one ounce of concentrates or 72 ounces of edibles. They will also be allowed to grow up to 6 mature plants and up to six seedling plants for personal consumption.

The initiative would also allow the state to license cannabis dispensaries, which would have to be located at least 1,000 feet away from schools. A tax rate of 7 percent will be placed on all medical marijuana sales.

e-mail icon Facebook icon Twitter icon LinkedIn icon Reddit icon
Rate this article: 
Article category: 
Regional Marijuana News: