Here's everything you need to know about Massachusetts' new marijuana laws

Twitter icon

Massachusetts is set to launch recreational marijuana sales next month, which certainly has cannabis fans excited seeing as they're the first state to allow sales east of the Mississippi River. But what exactly will the new laws entail when they go into effect next month? Don't worry, we have you covered, writes Joseph Misulonas.

First of all, while we know legal sales will begin next month, we don't actually know when. The state is working to license dispensaries to sell legal marijuana, but it's possible it will take a few weeks into July before any stores actually receive their license. So don't plan your entire Fourth of July party around legal marijuana if you live in Massachusetts.

We also know that the state will institute a 17 percent sales tax on all marijuana sales, and local governments are also allowed to add an additional tax up to three percent. So there could be up to 20 percent in sales tax added onto your cannabis purchases, depending on where you live.

If you're 21 or older, you're allowed up to one ounce of marijuana in your possession if you're in public. You're allowed up to 10 ounces in your residence. Massachusetts will also be allowed to have up to six marijuana plants per person in their residences, or 12 total plants per home. Public consumption of marijuana remains illegal.

Dispensaries will also be required to receive independent laboratory testing of their products to ensure their quality and safety for consumers.

Story Continues Below

And that's about it. So starting sometime next month, Massachusetts residents will be able to enjoy cannabis freely.

e-mail icon Facebook icon Twitter icon LinkedIn icon Reddit icon
Rate this article: 
Regional Marijuana News: