Marijuana Reform 2015: Delaware Decriminalizes Small Amounts Of Pot And Paraphernalia

Legislation that makes Delaware the latest state in the country to decriminalize the possession of small amounts of marijuana went into effect just after midnight Friday,  downgrading a possession charge for people carrying up to an ounce of pot if they are 21 years of age or older from a criminal misdemeanor to a civil violation, according to the National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana Laws. Under the former rules, having pot on your person could result in up to six months of jail time. 

People who are 18 to 21 years of age can still face criminal charges if they have been caught with pot two or more times. Conveniently for people who don’t just possess marijuana, possessing marijuana paraphernalia has also been dropped from a criminal violation to a civil violation, punishable by a $100 fine.

A vendor weighs buds for card-carrying medical marijuana patients...

Rate this article: 

This marijuana news is brought to you by 420 Intel. For the latest breaking cannabis industry news, subscribe to the 420 Intel newsletter. If you'd like to promote your product or service in this area after every article, contact us.