Louisiana Officially Decriminalizes Cannabis Possession

When Governor Bobby Jindal signs HB 149 into law sometime this week (perhaps today), Louisiana will officially become America’s 19th state with decriminalized marijuana possession.

Just two weeks after the state’s Senate gave the bill its overwhelming blessing, Louisiana’s House too agreed that weed and those that inhale the stuff should be unchained, voting 74-19 in favor of the new legislation.

And here’s exactly what the bill will do:

The bill proposes the following changes:

• It carves out a new penalty section for possession of less than 14 grams of marijuana, making it punishable by maximum sentence of 15 days in jail and a $300 fine.

• It does not change penalties for first-offense possession of marijuana involving amounts between 14 grams and 2.5 pounds, keeping the penalty for the misdemeanor charge at six months in jail and a $500 fine for a first offense.

• Second offenses

Rate this article: 

This marijuana news is brought to you by 420 Intel. For the latest breaking cannabis industry news, subscribe to the 420 Intel newsletter. If you'd like to promote your product or service in this area after every article, contact us.